A Criminal Defense Attorney In Your Corner
Fighting for your case. Protecting your legal rights.
Being accused of a crime can derail your entire life. Depending on the seriousness of the charge, you could be faced with probation, fines or even prison time. You may have your driver's license revoked, lose your job or have to register as a sex offender. In short, you need a good attorney to help you face those charges.
At Oliver Law Group, P.C., we make criminal defense a cornerstone of our practice. Our firm's founder, Alyson Oliver, is a best-in-the-business criminal defense lawyer with years of trial experience and a 90 percent win rate. We understand the intricacies of the courts in Oakland County, and we are committed to fighting for your legal rights and pushing for dismissal or a not guilty verdict at trial. We have experience defending clients facing charges in 48th District Court in Bloomfield Hills as well as courts throughout the region.
Cases We Handle
We are committed to understanding the details of your case, taking prompt and decisive action and exploring every legal option to dismiss the charges or help you face a lower penalty.
If you've been accused of a crime, the stakes are high, as you might be facing fines and jail time in addition to the social and professional consequences of being a convicted criminal. Attorney Alyson Oliver of the Oliver Law Group has extensive courtroom experience, and she will advocate for you with integrity. Time is of the essence, so don't hesitate to contact us and schedule your free consultation. Call (800) 939-7878.
Attorney Alyson Oliver
Troy, Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney
1647 W Big Beaver Rd
Troy, MI 48084
Operating While Intoxicated, Michigan's version of a DUI, can lead to jail time, significant fines and a license suspension, even for a first offense. Those penalties increase substantially, including a minimum one-year license suspension, on a second or third offense. If you are charged with OWI in West Bloomfield Township or elsewhere, we can push to get the charges dropped or create a plea bargain to lower the charge to "wet reckless;" that is, a conviction of reckless driving involving alcohol.
Because the "lookback period" - that is, the length of time in which previous OWI charges are relevant to sentencing - is seven years, getting a single charge reduced or dismissed has huge implications if you are charged again.
Michigan classifies theft and larceny offenses at either the misdemeanor or felony level depending on the value of the property stolen as well as the circumstances surrounding the theft.
- Misdemeanor larceny, often called "petty theft" or "petty larceny," is theft of property worth less than $200. Stealing the same value of property from a store is called retail fraud in the third degree; either charge can lead to up to 93 days' imprisonment or a fine of $500 or three times the value of the property.
- Stealing property valued between $200 and $1,000 is misdemeanor theft. The penalties are much stiffer: up to a year in prison or a fine of up to $2,000 or three times the value of the property stolen.
- Felony theft involves theft of property valued at $1,000 or more, or theft of a motor vehicle or trailer. A person convicted of felony theft faces imprisonment for up to five years or a fine of up to $10,000 or three times the value of the property.
- Felony theft of property valued at $20,000 or more is punishable by imprisonment for up to 10 years or a fine of up to three times the value of the property stolen.
Previous convictions of theft or larceny can increase the punishment to that of the next most serious attempt; for instance, if a person with a previous theft conviction steals property valued at less than $200, he or she could face up to a year in prison or a fine of up to $2,000, as though the property were actually valued between $200 and $1,000. Thus, if you are facing theft charges, it is very important to fight them immediately. We defend clients facing charges in Oakland, Wayne and Macomb counties.
Being accused of criminal sexual conduct (CSC), Michigan's term for rape and sexual assault, can have far-reaching consequences for your life. The laws regarding CSC are gender neutral.
- First degree CSC involves sexual penetration of a victim who is unable to consent either due to age, the use of a weapon, the use of force or coercion or power dynamics (that is, the assailant is in a position of authority over the victim). If convicted, the assailant can face life imprisonment.
- Second degree CSC involves sexual contact rather than penetration, with the victim unable to consent due to the same circumstances as used for first degree CSC. This charge carries a maximum sentence of 15 years' imprisonment.
- Third degree CSC involves sexual penetration of a victim who is 13, 14 or 15, who is forced or coerced, or who is incapacitated. This is punishable by up to 15 years' imprisonment.
- Fourth degree CSC involves sexual contact rather than penetration with the use of force or coercion, an incapacitated victim, or cases in which the assailant is employed by the Department of Corrections and the victim is incarcerated. This is punishable by up to 2 years in prison and/or a $500 fine.
Any charge of criminal sexual misconduct could cause you to lose your job, face prison time and register as a sex offender, to say nothing of the damage to your reputation and future employment prospects. If you are accused of a sex crime in West Bloomfield Township, we'll fight to have the charges dismissed in 48th District Court or win a not guilty verdict at trial.
Domestic violence is defined as violence or the threat of violence against someone with whom the offender shares a domestic relationship, such as:
- A spouse or former spouse
- A partner in a dating relationship
- A member of the same household
- A person with whom the accused offender has a child
Because of the unique nature of domestic violence, prosecutors have certain freedoms in pressing charges that they do not have with other criminal charges. For instance, the prosecution may use comments made to the police by the alleged victim instead of the victim's own comments at trial, as victims of domestic violence often later recant their statements. Prosecutors may also bring in evidence of previous instances of domestic violence in order to establish a pattern of behavior, even instances that were never reported to the police.
Being accused of domestic violence can have far-reaching implications for your future. Whether you live in Oakland, Wayne or Macomb County, you'll need an experienced defense attorney from our firm to help you fight the charge.
Free Case Evaluation